How to migrate a vSphere 5.0 virtual machine to Hyper-V 2012 with System Center 2012 SP1

Now that Hyper-V 3.0/Windows Server 2012  is released and System Center 2012 SP1 is right around the corner I decided to put myself in the position of many organizations out there today that may have an extensive VMware environment but might be looking to move some of the virtual servers over to the Hyper-V platform for a various number of reasons, but how do I accomplish this task? Let’s run through it……

My configuration..

1. VMware vCenter Server 5.0

2. VMware vSphere ESXi 5.0 hosts

3. Server 2012 Hyper-v 3.0 cluster

4 System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2012 Sp1 (beta)

So first and foremost, SCVMM2012 SP1 (beta) is required to support my 2012 hyper-v hosts. Outside of that requirement, the same should still apply to non-sp1 environments that do not include the following products…

1. Windows Server 2012

2. vCenter 5.X / ESXi 5.X

At this point I have installed and configured my hyper-v 3.0 cluster, SCVMM 2012 SP1 Beta, vCenter 5.0, and ESXi 5.0 hosts. I also have a virtual server running on ESXi 5.0 that I want to move over to my newly formed hyper-v / system center environment. The virtual server is shown below running in a VMware environment and is labeled with “scom-1” at the end of its server name.

For the sake of understating what has already been completed and what is required to perform this operation, we’ll jump over to the MS SCVMM platform and lay out what has been configured prior to converting the virtual server from VMware to Hyper-V.

1. I have already added my vCenter 5.0 server into the SCVMM 2012 Sp1 Beta environment.

2. After I have added my vCenter 5.0 server, I’m able to add VMware hosts and clusters that may be managed by that vCenter instance in SCVMM2012. After adding the hosts, I can see the hosts and VMs in the views shown below.

At this point my SCVMM 2012 SP1 Beta machine is able to see the virtual server running on ESXi via the vCenter APIs which will allow me to “convert the virtual machine”.  How do we do this?

1. The virtual server running in VMware must first have its “VMware Tools” removed from the running virtual guest operating system. In the “Programs and Features” section it will be displayed as shown below.

Once removed and the virtual server has been restarted. Shut down the virtual machine so it resides in a “powered off” state in VMware vCenter. The image below shows the “-scom-1” virtual sever powered off.

In SCVMM 2012 we will select “Create Virtual Machine” and then “Convert Virtual Machine” from the list of options.

The convert virtual machine wizard will open and prompt for the source virtual machine. Clicking browse will allow for me to select the scom-1 virtual server that is running on the esxi host machine.

Proceeding through the wizard I am then able to give the machine a name and description.

Clicking next will bring me to the VM configuration page where I have the ability to modify the number of cpus and amount of memory that is currently configured for the virtual server.

The wizard will then bring me to the host selection page and allow for me to pick a destination host in my hyper-v cluster.

Next requirement and page in the wizard will allow for me to pick the destination path of where I want the virtual machine files to reside. I’ve selected a cluster shared volume named “Volume 1”

I am then able to set my virtual network that I want this machine to use on the destination host.

Lastly I am able to add some additional settings for the guest virtual server to determine automatic actions in the event of a host failure.

The summary page is the final section of the convert virtual machine wizard and once all settings have been reviewed, clicking “Create” will start the process.

During conversion of the virtual server, the process can be monitored via the jobs pane in the SCVMM 2012 as shown below.

Once completed, the migrated virtual machine will be placed on the destination host and running on Hyper-V as shown in the below screen shot.

This entry was posted in Microsoft Hyper-V, System Center, Virtual Machine Manager 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

