Service Pack 1 for Windows Server 2008 R2 installation

Documented below is my experience with updating a Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard virtual machine running on a Windows Server 2008 RTM standalone hypervisor to Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1. My main interest in testing the service pack is for RemoteFX in my blade center environment.The virtual server being updated has the following roles and features installed.

Remote Desktop Services
RemoteApp Manager
RD Session Host Configuration
Remote Desktop Services Manager
Web Server (IIS)

With that out of the way, on to installation. I am using the same installation .iso image that was used to install Windows 7 SP1 as all versions are included in a single image totaling 1.9GB. Upon execution of the setup.exe, I am presented with Install Windows Server Service Pack notification window. It has identified my system as running Windows Server 2008 R2 but doesn’t seem to care whether or not it is Standard, Enterprise or Datacenter.

After continuing, I am presented with accepting license terms which was not the case with the Windows 7 SP1 installation from the same image file.

Again presented with the preparing your computer display dialog shown below.

After preparation is completed, I am presented with a message stating to “Save all work, close all open programs, and then click Install”. There is also a check box which defaults to being selected that will automatically restart the system.

After clicking install, the installer begins to download what seems to be a required update. The update is knowledge base article 976902 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/976902). I did not encounter this when upgrading my client OS to SP1. Either it happened very fast when I ran the Windows 7 sp install or it was not required.

After the prerequisite update was downloaded and I can only assume installed, the installer downloaded a cab file just as it did with the Windows 7 service pack and then immediately proceeded to install the service pack.

As with the Windows 7 SP1 installation before completely shutting down after installation is finished, the system displays a “Configuring Service Pack” screen. Whatever it is running in the background takes about 5 minutes to complete and then the system finally restarts to believe it or not “Configure Service Pack” again.

About 45 total minutes after starting the installation of the service pack I was presented with Ctrl + Alt + Del and was able to login to my system. Upone login I was presented with the Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 is now installed message. Below is a screenshot of my virtual machine system properties.

As far as the installation process for both Windows 7 and SErver 2008 R2 is concerned I feel it is very painless and kind of nice to have a single image containing everything needed for both my client and server operating systems. Now to try and break somethings and test out new RDS features!

This entry was posted in Windows Server 2008 / R2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

